Skip to main content

MS Graduate Program Current Students

I am from Bainbridge Island, WA. I graduated from the University of Utah in 2021 with an Honors B.S. in Kinesiology with minors in nutrition and modern dance. I hope to apply to medical school soon and this program felt like a great fit to help me be more prepared for medical school while also making me a more competitive applicant. I also wanted to find a master’s program that would help propel me into a career field. I love to do yoga and Pilates, cook and bake, read, and try new restaurants in Salt Lake.

Tanya Corsetti is currently working on thesis research in the laboratory of Dr. Gregory Hageman, investigating age-related macular degeneration.

I'm from Murray, Utah. I have an undergraduate degree in Chemistry and have worked in the microbiology department at ARUP for about 9 years. I decided during the pandemic that I would do something productive and pursue a master's degree. This program felt like the logical fit. I aim to spend at least one day a week in the mountains; fishing, hiking, or snowboarding.

I am from Salt Lake City. Several years ago I finished my BS in biology at the U and have worked in several lab jobs. Currently, I'm a lab specialist in the flow cytometry core, where I discovered an interest in health sciences and immunology in particular. I wanted to develop my understanding of these fields and be able to pursue some new career options, so this master's program seemed like a great place to start. In my spare time, I love being outdoors, birding, cooking, and working with my dogs.

I’m from Huntington Beach, CA, but have had the pleasure of living in Salt Lake City for the last 9 years.  I have a bachelor’s degree in Biology with an emphasis in Cell and Molecular Biology and a degree in Medical Laboratory Science, both from the University of Utah. As anundergraduate, I started doing research in an immunology lab studying T cells and melanoma. After being certified as an MLS, I concurrently started working in a clinical microbiology lab.

My experience as an MLS coupled with my research experience attracted me to the U’s Masterof Science in Lab Medicine and Biomed Science program because of its versatility amongst both clinical and basic research laboratories. I believe this program will help me continue to blend bench-side science with primary patient care and allow me to be a leader in the next frontier of healthcare. Outside of school and work, I like to explore the great outdoors by hiking, climbing, and camping. I also enjoy going to metal and rock shows, playing some Zelda, hitting the gym, and chilling with my Fiancé and cat.

I am from Nigeria. I graduated from Brigham Young University-Idaho with a bachelors in Human Biology in 2018. I currently work at ARUP laboratories as a Medical Technologist in the Genomics department. I’m in this program because of the versatility of the program and the fact that it’ll help me excel in my future endeavors.  When I’m not working, I love to travel and catch up with my family and friends.

Sophia Akinbo is currently working in Dr. Knudsen's lab for thesis research. Akinbo is investigating the regulation of the androgen access in prostate cancer by onect2 and Kaiso proteins using multiplex. 

I’m originally from the Bay Area, CA and moved here several years ago to get a BS degree in Neuroscience from Westminster College. I’ve been working as a lab technician over the last couple years, which has been a wonderful experience. I was looking for a graduate program with a pathology/immunology emphasis to broaden my knowledge base and open up more career options and this program seemed perfect. When I’m not in lab I’m drawing, playing videogames, or spending time with my partner and our cat.

I'm from St. George Utah and have enjoyed living in Salt Lake for the past 5 years. I completed my undergraduate degree at the University of Utah in Medical Laboratory Science. Since then, I have been working in cellular immunology at ARUP. As I continue my education my desire is to extend my knowledge of laboratory sciences, working towards a long-term goal of teaching. Outside of school and work I enjoy the outdoors in any way possible. Some of my favorite activities are open water swimming, hiking, camping, and running with my dog. My husband and I also love cooking and eating new foods.

Alina is currently working on thesis research in the laboratory of Dr. Melissa Reeves, investigating immunodominance and identification of neoantigens in tumors. 

I am from Salt Lake City, Utah. I earned undergraduate degrees in mathematics and chemistry with minors in honors and research from Barton College in Wilson, North Carolina where I played division 2 lacrosse. I want to pursue a career in medical research and felt this program would provide me with the perfect opportunity and skill set to be able to do that. In addition, I wanted a graduate degree that was interdisciplinary, so I wasn’t pigeonholed into one end all be all degree field. In my free time I like to go camping, hiking, and backpacking, as well as crochet, paint, read books, and take long walks with rude people for short periods of time.

I am from Youngstown, Ohio. I attended Cleveland State University for my first two years then transferred to Youngstown State University due to the pandemic. I have an undergraduate degree in Biology with a minor in Chemistry and worked as a Biology Laboratory Assistant and in the Dr. Chatrchai and Eleanor Watanakunakorn Biomedical Research Lab to monitor and detect levels of SARS-CoV-2 on campus at Youngstown State. At the beginning of my undergraduate career I thought I wanted to attend medical school to become a physician, but after spending countless hours in the lab I realized I was more passionate about laboratory sciences and wanted to continue my education in that realm. This program has everything I have been looking for in a master’s program and more and will set me up to be successful within the career field. In my spare time, I love spending time outdoors, playing tennis, thrifting, trying different coffee shops, as well as exploring all the cool places Utah has to offer!

Nadine is currently working on thesis research in the laboratory of Dr. Adam Spivak, investigating antiproliferative therapy to perturb the HIV-1 latent reservoir. 

I am from Kaysville, Utah. I graduated with a BS in Medical Laboratory Science from Brigham Young University in 2020. I’m currently employed as an MLS at Primary Children’s Hospital working the chemistry, hematology, and transfusion benches. My decision to pursue the MS program in Laboratory Medicine and Biomedical Science stems from my research experience as an undergraduate and a personal desire to improve both my scientific reasoning and technical communication skills. Outside of school and work I enjoy cooking, drawing, and reading.

I am originally from Poland. I moved to Utah 8 years ago from United Kingdom. I graduated from the University of East Anglia (UK) in 2013 with an Honors Bachelor’s degree in Biomedical Sciences. I completed Medical Laboratory Science program at the University of Utah and obtained my ASCP certification couple of years ago. I have been working as a Medical Laboratory Scientist for Intermountain Healthcare in Generalist and Transfusion positions for a while. I also worked for Granger Medical Clinic for a season. I have broad interests in Medical Laboratory Science, particularly in Transfusion, Hematology and Immunology and I have always wanted to obtain an advanced degree one day. I am hoping that a Master’s degree will open some exciting career options and will be a great research opportunity. My background in biomedical sciences, has made me gravitate towards a research degree, therefore the Master program at the U was just a great fit.

Malgo is currently working on thesis research in the laboratory of Dr. De Biase, investigating the impact of fatty acid content on phosphoethanolamine plasmalogens in the context of laboratory evaluation of peroxisome biogensis disorders. 

I am from Salt Lake City. I am a forever student; I have been taking college classes since I was sixteen. I have a master's degree in Occupational Health and recently graduated with my third bachelor's degree in Medical Laboratory Science. My other two degrees are in biology with a chemistry minor, and psychology with a health minor. I currently work at ARUP Laboratories as a certified medical laboratory scientist in the infectious disease division. My end goal from this program is to work in a research department with a focus in microbiology, my favorite subject.

Devin Ririe Headshot

Devin Ririe